2019 Janan Hayes High School Teacher Award

The American Chemical Society (ACS) Sacramento Section (map) is proud to announce the Fourth Annual award for high school teachers in our section, named for a Jan Hayes, a councilor, educator and ACS Fellow with over 40 years of involvement with the Sacramento Section. The 2019 Janan Hayes High School Teacher Award will be $500 in cash and $500 for chemistry supplies. Our Sacramento Section winner will then be nominated to enter any regional and national competitions for High School Chemistry Teachers. The application is due March 31, 2019.

Past winners have included Steven Hummel (2016), James Hill (2017), and Arlene Laurison (2018). Arlene also won the Western Region Teacher’s Award.

Applications are automatically rolled over for three years. However, previous applicants are encouraged to update their applications each year.

The application can be downloaded here.

Author: ACS Sacramento Section

The Sacramento area has over 900 members of the American Chemical Society in all areas of chemistry.

Share This Post On